Stuart 6A Valves Variant?

A special section just for steam engines and boilers, as without these you may as well fit a sail.
Old Steamer
Warming the Engine
Warming the Engine
Boat Name: Nell

Stuart 6A Valves Variant?

Post by Old Steamer » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:34 pm

My understanding was that Stuart 6A's always had simple slide valves. However, I recently viewed a Stuart 6A which was described as a Stuart 6A-2 with balanced valves. Can anyone say if this was a Stuart Turner modification or more likely to be the particular engine builder's idea? Also does anybody have experience of this set-up and any advantage or problems encountered with it?
Thanks for all help.
barts
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Otter, Rainbow

Re: Stuart 6A Valves Variant?

Post by barts » Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:08 pm

I have no direct experience w/ the 6A, but I do know some people that have had problems w/ the HP valve rod.

Here's a video of one running: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mFeS_C6O98

Either reducing the forces placed on the valve rod via balancing, or increasing the size of the rod would help.

- Bart
-------
Bart Smaalders http://smaalders.net/barts Lopez Island, WA
Lopez Mike
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: S.L. Spiffy

Post by Lopez Mike » Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:23 am

Uno, owned and operated by Steph Hilton and home ported here where I live, has broken the H.P. valve rod twice. Now the engine has a new larger diameter rod. We'll see. The next step, of course, is to go for a balanced valve at least on the H.P cylinder.
If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito.
Dalai Lama
RGSP
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Platypus, Shelduck

Post by RGSP » Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:57 am