Monotube Boiler Control

A special section just for steam engines and boilers, as without these you may as well fit a sail.
Tony
Just Starting Out
Just Starting Out
Boat Name: No Boat Yet

Monotube Boiler Control

Post by Tony » Sat May 11, 2013 6:31 pm

I'm new to this so this is my first post!
I have been working on various designs of monotube boilers over the last few years and find the views on this forum most interesting. My original challenge was to design and build a 3HP double acting steam engine and boiler from scratch to fit in a dinghy. It needed to be light so much of the engine is ally with sealed ballraces throughout. The boiler had to be monotube for safety.
The engine is fine and chugs away quite happily at about 800 RPM. It has some unusual features. The flywheel is driven by a timing belt at 3:1 above crankshaft speed, this enables the use of a flywheel that is only 1/3 of the weight and also the engine can be mounted lower in the hull reducing shaft angle and lowering the C of G. The weight of the engine assembly including condenser and scavenge pump (but not the boiler) is only 34 lbs.
The boiler on the other hand is a different matter! I needed about 80 PSI of moderately superheated steam (about 200 C). It was important that it was limited to <220 to avoid damage to the various O rings in the engine and valve gear. I started off with a monotube boiler and economiser coil in the flue controlled by a PIC and R/C servos and using gas burners from a domestic boiler. After much plying around with the control system it was moderately successful but I was not really satisfied with it so went for a Lamont design with separate superheater coil and burner. The pump was the problem here and I ended up with a much modified central heating pump. Again moderately successful but it was getting very heavy and I was worried about the separator tank which was, after all, a small pressure vessel.