Hello from Idaho

Read this first then introduce yourself here.
copterav8r
Just Starting Out
Just Starting Out
Boat Name: No Boat Yet

Hello from Idaho

Post by copterav8r » Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:24 am

I'm a newbie from Idaho. I do not have a boat, I do have a Stuart Turner #1 that I was hoping to find a suitable hull for. I have viewed a few threads about boats suitable for this engine. One such boat was a Fiberglass copy of a Wineglass Wherry, built by a fellow in Pennsylvania. I would be interested in an existing hull or kit suitable for this engine. Would a boat such as the Amp-Eater by Glen-L marine designs be suitable?
RGSP
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Platypus, Shelduck

Re: Hello from Idaho

Post by RGSP » Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:06 pm

Welcome to the Forum!

The Stuart No.1 is a very pretty little engine, and ought to run well, but remember it's basically a model, and not designed for long periods of use. For occasional use it should be fine. You may have to replace bearings etc. after maybe a few hundred hours running. You probably also need to buy or make an engine-driven boiler feed pump, plus a hand pump for emergency use: even small boilers become potentially dangerous if they run low on water. Engine lubrication can be done manually using an oil can, but if you do that it MUST be done frequently, and not neglected after a liquid lunch! Some semi-automatic system would be better.