new boat, new engine new project

Read this first then introduce yourself here.
steamboatdon
Just Starting Out
Just Starting Out
Boat Name: Agenoria

new boat, new engine new project

Post by steamboatdon » Fri Oct 07, 2016 3:32 pm

Hello everyone :)

I have just joined the world of steam boating, and wondered if anyone could help me identify the following engine for plans, drawings, past experience or any info at all - as a complete newbie at this, and I would like as much info before tackling this new project.. anything would be really helpful..

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

cyberbadger
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: SL Nyitra

Re: new boat, new engine new project

Post by cyberbadger » Sun Oct 09, 2016 10:40 pm

steamboatdon wrote:I have just joined the world of steam boating, and wondered if anyone could help me identify the following engine for plans, drawings, past experience or any info at all - as a complete newbie at this, and I would like as much info before tackling this new project.. anything would be really helpful..
steamboatdon! welcome, there is a lot of good information and folks to help you along!

As far as the engine - whose launch/where are the photos or boat in question from? That might help someone here help you identify it better. I don't know offhand.

The boiler looks to be home built, possibly from some designs somewhere.

The engine also looks home made, but it reminds me of a general kind of american table? engine that were made by at least a few companies and sold circa 1850ish as an off the shelf general use engine for small work on say a farm or a plantation - but that maybe completely wrong. I saw such an engine in person near where I live and it looks similar too what is in your picture.

Is it your wish to replicate or find a boiler/engine exactly like those in your pictures for your own steamboat?

Good luck, you are in the right place!

-CB
steamboatdon
Just Starting Out
Just Starting Out