Anne from Little Britan
Anne from Little Britan
Boat Name: No Boat Yet

Complete Newb Checking-In!

Post by csonics » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:50 am

Posted on behalf of stevey_frac:

stevey_frac
Lighting the Boiler

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:57 pm Post subject: Complete Newb Checking-In!
Hi Guys!

I started lurking around here for a bit, and i'm seriously considering having a bit of fun with steam, so I figured I mind as well say "Hi!".

I first got interested in steam engines when a I saw neighbour firing up his Steam tractor. I couldn't give you all the spec, but it was a massive single cylinder engine, firetube boiler, and weighed in at over 20 tons.

I talked with him for a while, and then he let me drive it! I was hooked. It was just awesome. He's since passed away, so I don't think i'll have another opportunity.

I started looking into model steam engines, and stumbled across a youTube video of a steam launch cruising around. It just looks like an absolute blast!

Anyways, I'm kind of half designing a little steam engine. Nothing really fancy, no reversing gear, no variable valve lead/lag, just a two cylinder. For an engine to play around with, i'm going to make it a 1" bore, 4" stroke to keep the RPM low. Piston valving. Gonna do it all out of stainless steel, since it's small, and the steel should hold up. The version i want to put in the boat probably won't be stainless.

For the boiler, I want to do a monotube boiler. They're safe, they steam up fast, they're simple, they don't involve a lot of welding, and I am a systems and computing engineer, so i kind of want to write a controller to run the boiler for me. It would be wood fired, and i'd control the heat by stepping up and down some DC fans. Effectively, you would run the system with the 'throttle open', and vary power output by varying the heat out of the boiler.